As someone whose taste in music ranges from classical to…well…more classical (not strictly true anymore, but let’s go with it), I feel somewhat obligated to watch at the least the first episode of music-themed anime. Of course I’m being facetious, but my impressions of both Nodame Cantabile and Your Lie in April boiled down to “I like classical music. Sue me.”

As such, when I first noticed ClassicaLoid in the Fall 2016 lineup, I had to take a look. Granted, the description practically screamed gag comedy, and I doubted the show’s main selling point–composers reincarnated as idols with special powers–could hold up for a full season. Even Sekkou Boys couldn’t hold its charm over 12 episodes, and that was a series of 7-minute shorts. Nevertheless, I clicked on the first episode of ClassicaLoid on Crunchyroll.

Boy, was I in for a surprise.

All is Calm

The episode opens with shots of flour and filling, with the introduction of the Ode to Joy theme in Beethoven’s 9th Symphony. We get two phrases of the quiet instrumental melody, when suddenly BOOM! The choir joins the orchestra, lending their full voices in adulation of Joy, the Spark of the Gods (these are actual lyrics by the way). Meanwhile, the video cuts to a dramatic sequence of Beethoven preparing his gyoza, complete with action lines, quick cuts, and slow motion. It was completely over the top, totally absurd, and absolutely glorious.

And suddenly battle lines
And suddenly battle lines

I didn’t end up following ClassicaLoid beyond episode 2 or 3, but I will never forget that opening sequence.

For more information about the 12 Days challenge, read my intro here.

